Race in YA Lit: Wake Up & Smell the Coffee-Colored Skin, White Authors!

Published July 23, 2013 by G.L.

A tweet comparing our writing diversity in books when you’re not black, gay, a woman,etc lead me to this author =D I just had to reblog it, had some good advice!

Sarah Ockler

In a new series entitled Y.A. for Grownups, The Atlantic Wire posted an article exploring The Ongoing Problem of Race in YA.

Like the title states, race in YA isn’t a new problem, nor is it going away. When I scan the YA bookshelves—whether my own or the extensive store displays—the issue is clear:

I spy with my little eye something… white.

Barbie® Fashionistas™

White authors, white characters, white faces, white girls. The scenario isn’t entirely unlike my high school graduation, but it’s no longer the world I see (or want to see) when I look out the window. So why the disconnect?

Plenty of YA authors of color are writing about diverse characters, often struggling to get those books out into the world and into the hands of readers. Discussions about the issue focus on a trifecta of economic challenges doused in fiction, assumptions, and racial politics: “consumers aren’t demanding…

View original post 2,108 more words

2 comments on “Race in YA Lit: Wake Up & Smell the Coffee-Colored Skin, White Authors!

  • I read and commented on this post last year, and now I get an update every time someone comments. That brought me here I agree that food metaphors are more pleasant sounding than some other things, but I’ve been experimenting with new metaphors. “Eyes the color of turned earth”, “skin as golden as sand at sunrise”. Problems is, one MC, who was born and raised on a prison ship, has never seen turned earth or sand!

    I’m white myself, but I’m very interested in the literary diversity movement, so much so that I have three projects about it: a tumblr dedicated to insprational images: http://angelhorn.tumblr.com/

    A pinterest board of exisiting YA and MG books with diverse covers: http://pinterest.com/petal65/100-diverse-covers-diverse-books-ya-and-mg/

    And my new cover design business, which has a section dedicated to diverse covers: http://coveryourdreams.wordpress.com/diversity/

    When you guys are ready for a cover, I’d love to design one for you!

  • Leave a Reply

    The Bookmark

    Podcast reviews about YA books

    Clatter & Clank

    Fiction by B R Sanders

    allourworlds

    Diverse SF&F, No Negativity

    Authors to Watch

    Discover a new book today!

    Amy McNulty

    Author, editor, reader, and fangirl.

    devious wisp

    writing unusual historical fantasy & reading just about everything

    A journey of craft y casa

    Writing to find my Latina/Chicana child voice

    Read at Midnight

    where words light up the night

    Mars WaterDragon

    Follow my journey to the road of self publishing.....

    Tasha L. Harrison

    Author | Editor | Creative

    Condor Musings

    A blog for Condor Book Tours & other Literary Musings

    Steampunk India

    Indian--Dutch-Caribbean Decoctions. May contain traces of female. All Original Materials Copyright © Suna Dasi unless otherwise stated.

    My Reading Nook

    Voracious reader of all the books

    Sumiko Saulson

    Things that go bump in my head

    Kobo Writing Life

    The craft and business of writing and self publishing

    Musings of A Romance Junkie

    Romance, Musings, and More

    everywhere all the time

    decolonizing travel culture

    Negra With Tumbao

    Follow my journey to the road of self publishing.....

    Write Bitches

    Three girls bent on world domination, one story at a time…Not really…Well, yeah, really

    The Candid Cover

    YA Book Blogger. Drinker of Starbucks. Film Critic. Professional Fangirl.

    Lekeisha The Booknerd

    Addicted To All Things Bookish

    Gabriella West

    Bio, writings, reviews, and updates

    The BiblioSanctum

    A Book Blog for Speculative Fiction, Graphic Novels... and more!

    The Secret Weekend (Writer) Warrior

    My rumminations and experiences about writing and anything else that comes to mind

    - as Others -

    An online literary magazine exploring social Otherness

    Rainbow Reading

    For the love of diverse YA books.

    Elisha Maria Miranda

    Pulling Focus: Dailies of a Director, Writer and Educator

    GiftyMcGifty

    Gift giving made easy

    Books: Publishing, Reading, Writing

    And, for good measure, a bit of Cooking and Eating

    The Indie Colophon

    An Indie Publishing Blog

    Bookshelf Fantasies

    A Life Amidst Books

